Project 7: Name Poster

Name-Poster-2.2

In the Name Poster project we were to design our name in five different ways which were to come from five different themes: art, music, architecture, dance, and poetry.

The first theme shows my name in the theme of art. In this design I wanted to incorporate the broadness of art. The black crazy spiky zig zags are supposed to idealize how art can be random, fascinating and unorganized. Paired with the light blue, the colors were to compliment each other, yet contrasting in such where the blue really stands out. I also like the way the letters look hand written, kind of reminding us of the traditional drawing methods.

The second theme was music. The idea of this design comes from the equalizer bars that bounce up and down to the beat of the music. This design is my favorite out of the five.

The third theme was architecture. The first three letters of my name, ‘Ale’, are angled with the last three letters, ‘yna’, to show the angles seen in houses. The large ‘K’ is to replicate a large building and the ‘apur’ stacked in yellow and black is to represent a tall building seen in cities, with lights on at various levels of the building, however the emphasize was to show height.

The fourth name was created with the theme of dance. This theme was most difficult for me because I have very little background in dance and replicating it proved to be challenging. I wanted to emphasize the whimsacleness of dance like dancers flowing their arms around or leaping using the pink arcs and the swirl at the end. The first part of my name was done in the typeface Party LET Plain:1.0  which was to show the playful and creativeness of dance. The last name was made using one of the photoshop effects. I think this adds to the idea of choreography in dance, where the creation can flow yet be rigid at the same time.

The last name was done in the light of poetry. I also really enjoy how this composition turned out. I like the typeface in light gray that acts as a shadow of the black letters. I added some small light gray circles in an attempt to emanate how old paper is crinkly and the letters smear in the paper.

Leave a comment